Home » Uncategorized » WHEN I WAS A MOM

WHEN I WAS A MOM

When I was a mom
I looked at my mom
and sorted all her ways,
copying only the ones I liked.
It’s okay if my daughters do the same.

When I was a mom,
I looked like a mom,
chasing a toddler, a baby on my hip,
and the days were long.
Then came the years of driving
five school kids to four different schools,
and those years were short.

When I was a mom
I wondered why my mom
still worried about me. I was grown.
She should have been enjoying her time alone.

Well, I failed to make these children problem-free
so I will worry, too, though proud to see
them handling their problems
with such grace and strength.

Mom was right.
You never stop being a mom.

Leave a Reply

