Home » Uncategorized » ON THE WAY TO ETES-VOUS PRETS

ON THE WAY TO ETES-VOUS PRETS

I am afraid to look up
so I look in.

If I look up
I won’t be monitoring my feet.
I might fall on my
recently broken hand.

So I look in
and I can feel this day.
Sun wonderful,
frost-kissed.

When I broke this hand
the doctor said
she’d open it up and put in
a plate with four little screws.
“Not in this body,” I replied.
“Can’t you fix it the old-fashioned way
and give me a heavy, clumsy cast?”

I might be crooked from now on.
I don’t know.
Stubbornness has its risks.

I will look up
at the end of the block,
and see a whole sky.
Sun wonderful,
frost-kissed.

And I will see Etes-Vous Prets,
the coffee shop,
and its representatives of humanity.
How many of them are surviving
their own risks?

Leave a Reply

