Home » Uncategorized » CLICHE by Amy Hilgendorf

CLICHE by Amy Hilgendorf

They say there’s truth in every cliché
And in this one there is:
You never know how your parents
Love you, until you’re a parent yourself.

It’s true.

Though the days are long and tiring,
It’s easy to make it through
When my heart runs so full.

And though the mysteries of who she is
Bubble so slowly to the surface,
The glint in her eye
Can’t hide the wonder of her story.

And however I may walk
Through the days, the months, the years,
I will know that I did this right,
Gifting this child to the world.

It’ll be a long time
Before I am a grandparent.
But I’ll be curious to know
Whether the joy is in the new child,
Or in watching your child
Awaken to that joy.

Leave a Reply

